top of page

The Four Pillars of Service of the American Legion


In 1919, The American Legion was founded on four pillars: Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth. Each of these pillars encompasses a variety of programs that benefit our nation’s veterans, its service members, their families, the youth of America and ordinary citizens. These programs make a difference in hundreds of thousands of lives each year.


Our organization’s positions and programs are guided by resolutions passed by American Legion National Convention delegates, and committee and commission members who represent 2.6 million wartime veterans and their families. These programs, and the men and women who take the time to perform them, are what allow The American Legion to make a difference locally, and on the state and national levels.  It’s who we are and what we do.

Click on image for more details

1. Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation


  • Access to VA Care

  • Better Funding Formula

  • Support for Veterans with Special Needs

  • Career Opportunities

  • A GI Bill for a New Century

  •  Employment and Business

  • Heroes to Hometowns

  •  Volunteering

  • Final Respects


2. National Security



  • Strong National Defense

  •  Military Quality of Life


  • Homeland Security

  • Foreign Relations

  • Full Accounting of POW/MIAs

  • Operation Comfort Warriors


3. Children & Youth


  • Child Pornography

  •  Catastrophic Illness

  •  Intellectual Disabilities

  •  Immunization

  • Family Integrity

  •  Media Violence

  • Drug Abuse

  • Child Sexual Exploitation

4. Americanism (Patriotism) 


  • Flag Protection

  • Illegal Immigration

  • Voter Registration and Participation

  • Boy Scouts

  • The Pledge of Allegiance

  •  Establishment-Clause Lawsuits

bottom of page